GenXY-what?

Posted on June 26, 2007

0


Wikipedia (the Merriam Webster of my-so-called-generation) defines Generation X as ???anyone born from 1960 to 1978 in North America,??? and those born between 1961 and 1981.  According to their definition, I???m also a member of Generation Y, the Boomerang generation, and the MTV generation.  Can you see how some late twenty-somethings might be confused?  Can you see why marketers have a hard time identifying and reaching us?

We???ve come a long way since ???I want my MTV.???  There are so many mediums in which to reach my generation that only a select few companies are successfully keeping up.  Three major television networks have turned into hundreds of popular cable channels, magazines titles can be counted by the 100s, and my generation???s time is increasingly segmented by the internet and social networks.  In his recent BusinessWeek cover story, Steve Hamm described us, the global youth culture, in the following way: ???They???re used to being pitched products; many of them welcome it.  But they???re turned off by clumsy attempts to win their approval and pry away their money.???  I couldn???t have described myself better, myself.

This blog aims to examine the marketing campaigns targeted toward my generation.  On a daily basis, compelling (and not-so-compelling) content is being pushed my way by companies around the globe.  What ultimately leads me to buy?  What makes me loyal to a brand?  Do my friends agree; or are they secretly freelancing for the ad agencies by forwarding all those YouTube clips?  I hope somewhere along the way, we???ll have a better idea.

Posted in: Uncategorized