Don’t Call it a Phone

Posted on August 17, 2007

0


While I love my iPhone, there’s another phone company that’s also recently caught my eye: Helio.  I first heard of the company through Walt Mossberg’s review of the Helio Ocean (he said some great things), and came across them again when I found the "Mobile User’s Guide to: The New Social Etiquette" in the September issue of Lucky.

The user’s guide is targeted toward GenXYZers just like me.  It’s delivered in the form of a pull out book and includes some hilarious references to social etiquette, emoticons, text abbreviations, etc.  It’s expertly done and was so funny that I read the entire thing.  For example, here’s how Helio defines a couple of my favorite emoticons:

😉 The wink: Oh, you sneaky devil.  Although this looks very similar to the smiley face, it’s actually loaded with meaning and innuendo.  That means you probably shouldn’t use it with your mom or your poker buddies.

:-$ Money mouth: Nobody knows whta this one means.  When you talk, does money spill out?  Are your words worth their weight in collectible coins?  Or, are you flashing some virtual gold teeth?  Our money is on leaving this one alone.

So, if for no other reason (and there are many more reasons — it’s September, for one), you should really check out this month’s issue of Lucky just for the Helio Guide to Social Etiquette.  Now, while I’m not going to rush out and buy the Ocean (see reference to iPhone above), this is clearly a company that "gets it" when it comes to reaching my "iWant" generation.

For more immediate entertainment, check out Helio’s commercials at: http://www.helio.com/#device_video_ocean.

Helio Guide to Social Etiquette: 4.5/5 stars

Posted in: Uncategorized