You Are What You Drink

Posted on November 29, 2007

0


In this study by Nielsen, my generation is referred to as the "millenials."  It’s all about what we’re drinking now and how those trends have changed over time.  Essentially, it says: "Ten years ago, beer accounted for 59% of this group???s alcoholicbeverage spending; that number has shrunk 12 percentage points to 47%as wine and spirits purchases have grown in relatively equalproportions."

I wonder: does this have anything to do with the increase in wine and beer advertising and marketing efforts over the past 10 years?  To be honest, I haven’t been drinking for more than 10 years, but I did work in the beer business (for AB) around 6 years ago and then in the wine business (for Cakebread Cellars) 3 years ago.  I remember AB struggling with their marketing and advertising efforts then, and when I interviewed for a corporate marketing job with the company, one of their biggest concerns was drinkers’ increasing preference for wine and spirits.  Cakebread catered to an older crowd, but I’d argue that there’s a huge opportunity in the premium wine market for reaching the younger affluent generation. 

Whatever your stance on the issue, I believe that marketers have the opportunity to sway the influence of a particular generation — and clearly, they already have.  And on that note, I’ll leave you with this video.  Clearly, while GenXYZ is drinking less beer, the brewers are still aggressively targeting the group.

Cheers!

Posted in: Uncategorized