No, I will NOT lick your magazine

Posted on February 15, 2008

0


Sound, yes.  Smell, maybe.  Taste, no.  There’s a line, and advertisers continue to cross it. 

Check out this article from the WSJ about lickable advertising.   Essentially, it talks about a new ad campaign from Welch’s that encourages consumers to lick (yes, LICK) the ad to taste the product.  The author’s most understated comment: "Marketers are excited about the prospects for lickable ads, but also have to deal with the "ick" factor."

I wonder who they’re targeting here.  Clearly, it can’t be my germ-a-phobe generation.  Kids will certainly put anything in their mouths, but I think and hope we’ve finally outgrown that by now.  It’s just plain weird and gross, and apparently, it’s not the first time it’s been done.  Really?  Did it work the first time around? 

I get it in a way.  You want us to experience your ad, product and brand with more than one scent, and you want to hit us in more than one medium.  I think maybe grocery store samples are still the way to go.

If anyone sees one of these, let me know how it tastes… if you’re brave enough to lick.

Licker Beware:

Media_httpgenxyztypepadcomphotosuncategorized20080215welchsjpg_ldjrheiozjwsuvf

Posted in: Uncategorized