“the Page Six-ification of America”

Posted on March 28, 2008

0


Interesting article in AdAge this week about Celeb-Hunters Defending Their Craft (that’s where I stole the fitting quote above).  I guess the questions that begs are: 1) what do you consider news? and 2) who counts as a celebrity?  Increasingly, I’m being bombarded with "celeb news" that I wouldn’t classify as including famous people or being important and interesting.  Also, how do these fake celebrities – like people that have stupid reality TV shows – get sponsorship deals with major companies? 

Do these companies think my generation is so obsessed with gossip that we’ll buy anything with Lindsay Lohan on the package?  Unlikely.  Even Ashley Dupre, Eliot Spitzer’s call girl, is gaining popularity and being offered endorsement deals.  Unreal.

In any case, maybe they’re right.  I do keep close tabs on celeb gossip.  A daily dose is good for clearing your mind (and a little lighthearted competition if you’re into Fafarazzi – although I’m falling behind with my bracket picks.)  But in my world, celebs don’t sell products, they entertain (and maybe sell a few magazines).

My most recent celeb sighting?  The oh-so-talented-Dennis Rodman at the Hard Rock in Fort Lauderdale:

Media_httpgenxyztypepadcomphotosuncategorized20080328dennisrodman2001jpg_dnaarnnyptdmhie

Posted in: Uncategorized