I love my free TV

Posted on May 13, 2008

0


Most of you haven’t been to my mini-house (who am I kidding, most of the people reading this probably have been to my apartment/..).  Either way, if you know even a little about me, you know that I’m just like any other GenXYZ American and I love TV.  However, unlike the rest of the digitally savvy crowd, I have an ancient analog TV with basic-plug-it-into-the-wall cable. 

I won’t go into the many reasons why that’s true, but I will say that I’m also addicted to online TV.  Since most of my favorite shows are on ABC, that means I get them all for free.  Online.  Anytime I want.  That also means I can catch up on all the seasons of LOST and continue to give myself nightmares (the previous post where I wrote about never watching LOST – that’s no longer true thanks to my friends AM and CL).  This was all very handy during the writers strike and continues to be a good source of entertainment. 

Now, I also really like HBO TV shows and think that Entourage and SATC are amazing, but today’s announcement from iTunes and HBO just isn’t for me.  Why should I have to pay $1.99 or more to watch HBO shows through Apple’s interface?  Why can’t they just play fair and post them online for free or with ads… like everyone else?

I think there will be a time when consumers reach their limit.  Sure, there are people out there stealing movies, music and TV shows through illegal download sites, but wake up content owners: some of us don’t want to do that… but we still want to watch/listen for free.   This debate could go on and on, but the point is: sometimes giving things away creates fans and followers and it IS an important part of any business model, especially when we’re talking about media distribution.  The younger crowd feels increasingly entitled to getting what they want, so if you don’t give it to us, you run the risk of us cutting you out all together. 

Posted in: Uncategorized