Retro-trending

Posted on July 18, 2008

0


Good story today about how Levi’s is reversing its localization strategy.  They’re now taking their all-American brand to a global audience with the same cut, the same look and feel and even the same commercials and marketing campaigns in every region.  I like this approach – marketers have been so overly focused on localizing their brands for years, that the message has been diluted.  Now, when Japanese tourists converge on the City by the Bay to stock up on Levi’s, they’ll know they’re getting the exact same thing they’d get at home.

Levi’s spokespeople claim that the jeans are made to mold to your body anyway, so as long as you buy the right size, you’ll have a great fitting pair of jeans.  I’m sold.  Jeans are so expensive these days and it’s so hard to find a pair that fits perfectly, that I’m actually willing to give the 501s a try. 

I do find it a little amusing however, that this story made it to the Journal.  It’s almost as if they’re saying that Levi’s did something wrong.  It’s a bold move indeed, but one that I predict others will follow.  Overall, it’s cheaper for them, maintains a strong brand image and it at least made this consumer want the pair of jeans more than I used to.

Think globally, Act globally.

I suspect this was developed by someone on the Levi’s payroll, but a good video nonetheless:

Coming Monday?  A story from my friend Susan about what really goes on in the Google cafeteria. 

Also, today Nike’s “Just Do It” campaign is 20 years old.  Wow.

Posted in: Uncategorized