My Tipping Point

Posted on February 3, 2009

0


Switching Gears:
If I had to pick something, I'd say it was the most recent issue of Newsweek that did it.  I've been thinking for some time about how to make this blog more interesting, more frequent and more relevant to my life and the lives of my readers.  This week, it struck me — there's just too much going on in the world that affects my generation – GenXYZ – to solely focus on how marketers succeed and fail in their attempts to reach us.  So… since we've finally reached the tipping point, you can expect to hear more about real issues (and about all the strange things that happen around me every day).  I hope you'll stick around.

The Newsweek Stories: Here are the stories that pushed me to the tipping point.
1) Welcome to Elsewhere – A good story about the feeling of constant movement and need to be "elsewhere" that's plaguing not only my generation, but also the American way of life.  I've said for some time that I have a "made up job" but this Newsweek article came out and threatened that I've strayed so far from fulfilling real physical needs that I will be irrelevant in what feels like a matter of minutes.  The author argues that we work in abstract industries, feel like we're only in the right place when we're in transit from point A to B and goes on to accuse us of smoking more pot and popping more anti-depressants than the "company men" of the 50s.  Scary, but not untrue.  You should read this.

2) The End of Upward Mobility? – When I was a kid, like most in my generation, I thought I'd grow up to be rich.  In fact, I didn't just think it… I was convinced.  Recently, I've had this nagging feeling that it will never happen for me.  You could blame inflation or simply childhood fantasy, or you could read this article.  Once you do, you'll realize that it wasn't just me, but the gap between the middle class and the rich that squashed my dreams.  It's not all doom and gloom since I'm perfectly happy to observe "the other half" from the outside.  But, it does prove that it's real and it's happening to all of us.

And… one more thing:
You know if you've been reading my blog for any length of time that I feel like "my generation" is stuck in the middle of all the Xs, Ys and Zs.  So, I'll also share from time to time additional ways we've been characterized. 

This week, Newsweek slotted me into the "millenials" generation, noting that I'm a member of the "75 million strong generation known as the millenials" and therefore, I'm more assimilated to the diversity that currently makes up the American demographic.  They also talked about "the Joshua generation" of "young white evangelical Christians who pundits predicted would usher Obama into office in overwhelming numbers."  I'm not necessarily a member of that group, but you can see why we might have a generational identity crisis.

Posted in: Uncategorized