Who???s buying the Kindle?

Posted on March 4, 2009

0


Amazon has sold more than 250,000 Kindle devices (rough estimate based on minimal research) and what I want to know is, ???where are they????  It???s natural that riding the commuter train to the Silicon Valley I???d see more iPhones than most other places on the planet.  But in the land of early adopters, shouldn???t we all be toting Kindles as well?  Despite the glowing reviews, I haven???t seen a single one on the train, or on recent airplane trips to popular business traveler destinations like Chicago.

What have I seen is lots of people toting (gasp) printed books and newspapers.  My boss will like this one.  He???s a traditional ???pulp??? guy that still likes to read 4 newspapers a day in print.  I prefer to get my news online, but there???s just something I can???t give up about the feeling of holding a book.  It???s satisfying.  It???s mental and emotional and makes me feel more connected to the characters overall.  In fact, I just finished reading The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and I dragged the hard cover copy around with me for weeks because I liked it so much.  The book comes highly recommended.

I???m sure there are plenty of people that disagree with me and want to read so many books and newspapers at once that they have to lighten their load with the fancy Amazon device.  I'm just not sure I'll ever be one of those people.  And, now that you can get your Kindle books on your iPhone, I'm pretty sure there won't be Kindle sightings on the train.   

Whether you love or loathe the device, you should see this video where Bezos goes a little nuts laughing about it on the Daily Show:

Posted in: Uncategorized