Memories for a generation

Posted on March 18, 2009

0


In honor of Barbie's 50th birthday (a day we share in different years) two women of another generation have agreed to share their memories of the doll and the brand that will endure for generations to come.  I have fond memories of my Barbie years myself, but my mom and my aunt Diana did such a great job capturing the spirit that I'll leave you with their comments. 

Do you have memories to share?  Add them in the comments.

From Diana, Fort Collins, CO:
My Iowa friends questioned me about how I could afford the clothes.  They only could afford the doll and had to make the clothes.  This sparked my memory about WHY?  My Aunt Ginny and Uncle Don owned Secrest's Furniture store in Red Cloud, Nebraska.  This store sold furniture, Cook's paint, gifts, and flooring of all types.

Cook's paint would run a big sale and the circulars needed to be delivered to each person???s home.  Back then, the ad slicks were not added to the weekly newspaper.  We were given one cent for each circular that we delivered between the screen and the door.  Then in the summer, we made money by tending to the sidewalk sale in front of Secrest Furniture Store.    My cousin, Teresa and I were 9 and 10 years old, and were very motivated to make this money, so we could go to Hastings, Nebraska to buy Barbie clothes and accessories.

This taught us a big lesson about the strong work ethic at a young age. 

From Teresa, Estes Park, CO:
Barbie was and is the best doll for generations, being passed down from mom to daughter.  I loved buying the clothes in Hastings at Rutts drug store.  I clearly remember where they were kept in the back right hand corner, and then opening them in the back seat on the way home trying not to lose any of the shoes!! 

I remember family friend Alberta Pope making many more beautiful clothes for my Barbies, and her friend Midge(I identified with her more).  Ken and Barbie had quite the fantasy dating trips before moving into the original Barbie foldable cardboard house, complete with cardboard furniture.  All of the Barbies, along with their clothes and cars are still here in our storage room.  What fun it would be to get them out again. 

When I passed the dolls down to my daughter, she and a friend took over an entire room to run their Barbie soap operas out of (*Note: we watched WAY too much Day of Our Lives at a young age).  They had scripts and everything imaginable ??? in fact, some of the characters even died and then they had funerals.  Finally, a fitting place to end the story: we had a dog that developed a taste for the wonderful doll ??? ah, Grizzly. 

It seems we used to stay young for a lot longer in those days.  Maybe that was better.

Posted in: Uncategorized