Spring Cleaning 2.0

Posted on May 15, 2009

0


Around this time of year, I start itching to throw open all the windows and conduct a little spring cleaning at my apartment.  That has yet to happen, but at some point the dust will be shuttered out and the summer ushered in.

This year, that got me thinking. What about my online life?  I think there are some cobwebs in there, too.  Just to illustrate, you can find me here if you're looking: Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, Yelp, Tumblr, FriendFeed, Snooth, LinkedIn, Plaxo, Flickr, Picassa, Strands, and on this blog or that of my PR agency.  There are also a million other places where my profile includes a name and photo and nothing more because I got ambitious and didn't stay that way.  In fact, if you're curious, you can also share my Pandora station and subscribe to my Amazon wish list.  This isn't unique.  I'd guess most GenXYZers share my dilemma.

But, if you put all those sites into a hat and pulled one at random, would it show you the full picture of who I am?  We've been talking a lot with clients about how Facebook might be good for one piece of content while they should use MySpace for another.  Does that approach have personal applications as well?  Or, would you like to see all my blog posts and Yelp reviews filtered to Facebook?  Maybe I'm over-analyzing given my crazy-PR-girl tendencies, but I'm not so sure. 

I'd like to take the time to clean up my life.  Post the photos I'm proud of to Flickr, review some old favorites on Yelp and finally delete all those old profiles I'm not using.  Where did I put that password, anyway?  Just like the apartment cleanse, this could take some time, but for future googlers to get a better picture of the real me, maybe it's worth it.

How do I even find time for a life outside this computer?

Posted in: Uncategorized