A Thriller to the End

Posted on June 25, 2009

0


Awaiting confirmation of Michael Jackson’s life or death (wondering if TMZ is trustworthy or not) has trumped everything else I had planned for the afternoon and displaced the blog post I originally wrote for today.

No eulogy I could write would do the man justice, so let’s just say MJ had a tremendous impact on my life.  His early solo videos are etched in my mind as my first exposure to dancing, music and MTV.  My mom tells me that when I was very small, I’d wake up in the middle of the night yelling “Thriller!”  She thought I was having nightmares.  Quite the contrary, mom… I just wanted you to play that video for me again.  (Apparently they sorted that out when the babysitter introduced my mom to the then-new MTV and Mr. Jackson himself).

Gone are the days of videos on MTV and the all important VJ that introduced them.  Gone are the days of dancing in the living room (oh wait, not true).  Gone are the days of Michael Jackson.  It’s truly sad to think about all the gossip and rumors Michael Jackson endured as one of the first mega celebrities.  I hope in the end, we’ll all remember how ‘thrilled’ we were when we first saw him dance.

An inspiration to many…

Posted in: Uncategorized