Renting the Runway

Posted on November 9, 2009

0


Media_httpgraphics8nytimescomimages20091109business09runwayca0articlelargejpg_fywawhlaftskrdd

I’m a huge fan of Gilt Groupe, ideeli and the other online sample sale sites that have popped up over the past few years. This is one I’m not so sure about. The new service lets you rent designer outfits (like Bag Borrow or Steal on the handbag side).

Sure, it’s a “deal” compared to buying the dress, but will fashionistas be willing to shell out their cash for something they can’t keep? I’m guessing this will catch on in places where wearing the latest and greatest designer gear is a must (not so much in my life).

What I do love about it is the blending of Netflix + Zipcar model for dresses. That’s a very cool concept. Now, what will they do with last season’s favorites?

Posted in: Uncategorized