Social Change and Richard Scarry

Posted on September 23, 2010

0


Media_httpthesocietyp_hgjlf

I loved Richard Scarry as a kid and just bought this book for a good friend of mine who was having a baby. I loved flipping through as an adult and seeing all the things I could’ve been when I ‘grew up’ (note: still waiting for that to happen.

What was so interesting to me is that you either have a trade profession – you’re a firefighter, policeman, milkman… or a very education-intensive job, like being a doctor or lawyer. I don’t think ‘PR girl’ made Richard Scarry’s list…

In any case, here’s how Richard and his furry friends are changing with the times.  This 100% reminds me of the first time culturally diverse names started showing up in text books. 

Posted in: Uncategorized