I’m not Veruca Salt… or am I?

Posted on October 12, 2010

0


Media_httptctechcrunc_jkobx

Why I let Paul Carr get me all worked up, I’ll never know. But every once in a while, he writes something with which I adamantly disagree. Shocking, since he says things like this about my generation: “based on all the available evidence, Millennials are the most obnoxious, self-entitled, lazy and willfully ignorant generation ever to pollute the surface of the earth.”

I should start by saying that I generally don’t lump myself into the millenial category, but since this article puts me squarely in that group, I feel the urge to respond. The more I let Carr’s words sink in, the more I identified with said millenials. As the article states, “Experiences designed for them should be intuitive and easily understood at first exposure (and sight). They do not want to read instructions.” Very true. But shouldn’t we ask for those of you who aren’t dreaded millenials – do you really want your iPhone to come with pages of instructions? No. You just want it to work. Instinctively.

You want what I want.

Too much to ask? Maybe, but I’d argue that the entitlement factor and the way that organizations are forced to realign to deal with my generation are to the benefit of the organization, and society at large. We’re not going back to where we came. It’s not 1955. I won’t work for this company for 30 years, and there will be no gold watch and a healthy pension at the end of the road. So, while I AM here, I want opportunities. I want to grow and learn and be rewarded, and I’m willing to put in the hard work to get there (yes, a hard-working millenial – imagine that).

Finally (although it’s a topic I’ll continue to explore) it’s worth considering now that all the negatives that Carr pins on my generation are also true of individuals within his ‘generation’ – the one that ended just a month before mine began. I’ve met lazy, entitled people every step of the way and they weren’t all Veruca’s age, or mine.

In summary, because millenials are dying to know, “WHO’S GOING TO MOTIVATE ME??”

Find the full article here: http://techcrunch.com/2010/10/10/dont-care-how-i-want-it-now

Posted in: Uncategorized